I think a person is posting fake properties as a scam - how do I contact hotpads.com to let them know?
spoke to a rep with Julian C Woods Living Trust on thursday who said the apartment was for rent and would not be availabel til after the memorial day weekend. Talked to them again on Tuesday at which time they e-mailed me an application. I filled it out with all requested info and sent it back with in 1 hour of recieving it. Shortly after sending app back to them they e-mailed me stating that the apartment had been rented. I called them back and they said sorry and "assured" me that my info would be destroyed and got very short and rude with me - also refused to provide any info about thier company that I requested. I am having trouble beliving them b/c they have already misinformed me about the availablity of the property. Pleasehelp me report them to hotpads before they scamanyone else.
We really appreciate you letting us know and there are a couple of ways to report the scams to us.
1- If you are looking at a listing, there is a red envelope on the right side that says "report listing." Just mark it as 'scam/fradulent' listing and it will send us an report.
2- You can also send us an email to clientservices@hotpads.com. We'll take anything you can give us- the address of the property, email correspondences with the scammer, etc.
We take scams very seriously here, and this sounds like it has many of the trademarks of a scammer. Here is a page with some warning signs of scams that may be helpful to you in identifying possible scams: http://hotpads.com/pages/scams.htm
Please let me know by reporting or emailing us so we can get this scam off HotPads! Thanks!
I have a listing that has been stolen by a scam artist. They are trying to rent 3902 E Carol Ann Way in Phoenix AZ. This home is not for rent. It is a sale and is sold. The owner is very upset. PLEASE GET THIS OFF THE SITEASAP. Thanks Bernhard Streed Remax Excalibur bstreed@cox.net
I have now determined that more than half of the properties I inquired about are scams. I am not sure HotPads really does much to prevent them from running their schemes here. I am still hoping to find a good place, but it seems increasingly unlikely that it will be through HotPads.
Colleen - Why does hot pads allow a listing to be visible after it is reported as a scam? 5025 Laurel Drive in Concord is a scammed rental listing of a home listed for sale. It is a $750,000 home listed for rent at $1,700. I have reported but it is still visible.
Hey Tricia, someone IS posting these properties as scams for SOME reason, data mining? But why?
They are posting these ads all over Craigslist without a reply address (at least from I can tell) and that the only way to get the address is to call them.
These scammers edit the CL post with different names and phone numbers to call for additional info.
They only asked for your name and number, info easily acquired online/phone book.
I think a person is posting fake properties as a scam - how do I contact hotpads.com to let them know?
spoke to a rep with Julian C Woods Living Trust on thursday who said the apartment was for rent and would not be availabel til after the memorial day weekend. Talked to them again on Tuesday at which time they e-mailed me an application. I filled it out with all requested info and sent it back with in 1 hour of recieving it. Shortly after sending app back to them they e-mailed me stating that the apartment had been rented. I called them back and they said sorry and "assured" me that my info would be destroyed and got very short and rude with me - also refused to provide any info about thier company that I requested. I am having trouble beliving them b/c they have already misinformed me about the availablity of the property. Please help me report them to hotpads before they scam anyone else.You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.
We really appreciate you letting us know and there are a couple of ways to report the scams to us.
1- If you are looking at a listing, there is a red envelope on the right side that says "report listing." Just mark it as 'scam/fradulent' listing and it will send us an report.
2- You can also send us an email to clientservices@hotpads.com. We'll take anything you can give us- the address of the property, email correspondences with the scammer, etc.
We take scams very seriously here, and this sounds like it has many of the trademarks of a scammer. Here is a page with some warning signs of scams that may be helpful to you in identifying possible scams: http://hotpads.com/pages/scams.htm
Please let me know by reporting or emailing us so we can get this scam off HotPads! Thanks!
your reply:
You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.
your reply:
You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.
Thanks
Bernhard Streed
Remax Excalibur
bstreed@cox.net
your reply:
You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.
your reply:
You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.
your reply:
You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.
They are posting these ads all over Craigslist without a reply address (at least from I can tell) and that the only way to get the address is to call them.
These scammers edit the CL post with different names and phone numbers to call for additional info.
They only asked for your name and number, info easily acquired online/phone book.
But why?
your reply:
You must have a HotPads account to post. If you already have an account, please login or create an account.